Home / Boards and Commissions / Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Williams Township Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) consists of five members.  The first member of the ZBA shall be the chairman of the Planning Commission.  The second member shall be a member of the Township Board appointed by the Township Board.  The remaining three members shall be selected and appointed by the Township Board from among the electors residing in the unincorporated area of the Township

Each member, when appointed, shall serve a term of three years.  Terms of the Planning Commission or Township Board representatives are limited to the time they are members of the Planning Commission or Township Board and the periods stated in the resolution appointing them.  The ZBA shall elect one of its members as it chairman and one of its members as secretary.  Each ZBA member receives a reasonable sum as determined by the Township Board for his services in attending each regular or special meeting of said Board.

POWERS AND DUTIES:  The Zoning Board of Appeals shall have all powers and duties prescribed by law, in the township Zoning Ordinance, and which are more particularly specified as follows: 

  • Interpretation - Decide any question involving the interpretation of any provisions of the township Zoning Ordinance, including determination of the exact location of any district boundary of the Zoning Map if there is uncertainty with respect thereto;
  • Variances - Grant variances from the terms and provisions of the township Zoning Ordinance as provided in that ordinance; and
  • Appeals - Hear and decide appeals of decisions made by the Zoning Administrator.  In this regard, the Board of Appeals may assume the powers of the Zoning Administrator.

Jeremy Rosenbrock, Chairperson

Brian Jean, Twp. Board Rep

Brandon Paten

Joel Johansson 

Larry Lijewski