Home / Boards and Commissions / Auburn/Williams Intergovernmental Advisory Committee

Auburn/Williams Intergovernmental Advisory Committee

City of Auburn Logo  Williams Charter Township Logo

The City of Auburn and Williams Charter Township have joined over the years in many successful ventures including the Auburn-Williams Fire Department, the Auburn-Williams Recreation Association, and contracting for administration of the Michigan Building Code.  Both the City of Auburn and Williams Charter Township are members of the West Bay County Regional Wastewater System.

At a time when governmental units are realizing decreasing revenues, it is necessary and fitting to look towards methods to deliver essential governmental services in the most cost effective way to the residents, businesses and property owners of Williams Charter Township and the City of Auburn.

It was in that context that the Auburn City Commission adopted a Resolution to Consolidate Governmental Services with Williams Township at an Auburn City Commission Meeting on July 2, 2007.  The Williams Township Board of Trustees adopted a similar Resolution Supporting Intergovernmental Cooperation at a Williams Township Board of Trustees Meeting on August 14, 2007.  As a result of these two resolutions, a Special Meeting of the Auburn City Commission and Williams Charter Township Board of Trustees was held on April 24, 2008.  The City's and Township's resolutions, and minutes of the Special Meeting, can be downloaded by clicking on the highlighted text above.

It was the consensus of the City Council and Township Board members at the special meeting that the city and township should continue to actively explore opportunities to work together that make sense for both communities.  If areas of mutual interest are identified, then the city and township should carefully explore the possibilities. 

Formulation of an Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (I.A.C.) was discussed as a method to further explore areas of possible cooperation between both governmental entities.  Committee meetings are posted in accordance with the Open Meetings Act and the public is encouraged to attend.

It was determined that the advisory committee would be comprised of  John McNally, Mayor, and Tom Paige, Supervisor, along with one other elected member of  both the township board and city commission.  In addition, two residents from each municipality were chosen to form an eight member committee.

Catherine Mullhaupt, Michigan Townships Association Member Information Services Liaison/Team Leader reminded those present at the Special Meeting that each legislative body, the Auburn City Commission and Williams Township Board of Trustees, is responsible for any decisions that are ultimately made.  The I.A.C. is an advisory committee with no legislative authority and no authority to make or change policy.

It is important to note that the City and Township operate under very different enabling statues and regulations and that there is not a desire to merge the two governmental units.  It is the I.A.C.'s purpose to identify areas of mutual interest in both municipalities and to carefully research the possibilities of combining the effort in identified areas.  The goal is to determine if cost savings can be realized while providing the same or better level of service. 

The first meeting of the Auburn/Williams Intergovernmental Advisory Committee was held on December 17, 2008.  Meeting minutes are available by following the links near the top of this page in the green box on the left hand side of this page.


Auburn-Williams Intergovernmental Advisory Committee Members

, Chairperson, City Representative

Lee Kilbourn, Auburn Mayor

Will Butterfield, Williams Township Supervisor

Jim Dominowski, City Representative

Matt Charbonneau, City Representative

Robert Putt, Township Representative

Ron Kohn, Township Representative

Russ Williams, Auburn City Commissioner

, Williams Township Trustee

, Williams Township Trustee (Twp. Alternate)